Art order challenge: Eowyn vs The Witch King

April 19, 2011

Here is my thumb layout for the current art order challenge. I decided to go with the moment where Eowyn confronts the Witch King and the Fell Beast for the first time. I want to focus on creating a really interesting and unique version of the Fell Beast. I want to do a panoramic view, however I may crop in so that the focus is more on the immediate action/drama, although I do like the idea of showing the battle raging all around them. I am also toying with the idea of doing a triptych. In the triptych Eowyn would be featured in panel 1 with the battle in the center panel and the Witch King would be in the final panel.

This is a tight pencil of the Fell Beast and the Witch King. After I created this sketch, I decided I needed to have a better idea of how the basic structure of the Fell beast would work. So I did something I’ve never done before. I went out and bought some super sculpty and wire and built a really basic model of the fell east. I didn’t sculpt in any details, but having the basic shape really helped me figure out how the legs and wings should work.

This is what I will hopefully be basing the final version of the Fell Beast on. I wanted to give him a look that departed completely from the movies. I still need to figure out a few issues with his anatomy and the Witch King needs to be almost completely re drawn, but I’m really happy with what I have at this point. Now I just have to figure out the 37 other elements that will hopefully work together to comprise this illustration. Why can’t I ever just keep things simple?

Leave a Reply

