Art Order Inspiration Challenge

December 12, 2013

1460082_222007047923499_344096791_n

I am very excited and humbled to announce that ‘Sky Raider’ was selected as one of the winners of the art order inspiration challenge! As you may have guessed by the title, the challenge was to create an illustration based on your personal inspiration.

I chose to create a piece based on the painting style and media use of the amazing illustrator Paul Bonner. Paul Bonner paints with watercolors much the way that I would like to be able to paint. I have tried for years to absorb his methods by studying his works in his book ‘Out of the Forst, the art of Paul Bonner’. I have also studied his more recent works through buying up magic cards and spectrum annuals as well as the good old fashioned google search.

Paul Bonner isn’t the only artist who inspires me. I have lots of other artist heros who I look to on a regular basis to find inspiration.  But Paul Bonner is the only artist who handles watercolors the way that I would like to. His work deceives the viewer and leaves them wondering what he could have possibly used to create such vivid and lively images. Certainly not watercolors.

I won’t pretend for a minute that what I create is anything close to the level of the great master. However, it is a good feeling to be included with such prestigious artists in winning this challenge. It is beginning to feel like struggling with watercolors for the past ten plus years is starting to pay off.

Thanks to everyone for all your support.

Leave a Reply

