Sirens and the Art Order Journal

June 28, 2016

Sirens

Back in February I decided to finally bring my Sirens illustration to a conclusion. I used the ‘Month of Love’ challenge on Tumblr as an excuse to push through and get this painting done before the end of the month. I succeeded! the painting was done in time. Unfortunately the curator of the month of love challenge chose, for whatever reason, not to share it.  I’ll admit I was a bit dejected and sort of forgot about the painting for a few months.

Fortunately, I didn’t forget about the painting altogether and decided to give it another shot. I submitted it to Art Order Publishing for consideration to be included in the Salon section of the Art Order Journal, a successfully funded kickstarter.com art book which will include works from industry legends such as: Brom, Donato Giancola, Rebecca Guay, Allen Williams, Jon Foster, James Gurney, Jean-Baptiste Monge, Mark A. Nelson, Marc Scheff, Tony DiTerlizzi, and Paul Bonner to name just a few of the amazing talents featured in this book.

To have my work included in a book with artists of this quality and renowned is extremely humbling and a bit intimidating.  It has been a long time coming and a lot of blood sweat and tears, but in the end, finishing this painting, the idea for which was born and begun back in 2010, has been on of the most rewarding experiences of my artistic career.

Be sure to pre-order your copy of the Art Order journal today!

Leave a Reply

